Skip to content

Official holidays

Below you will find a list of the closing days for the Embassy in Cairo, a combination of Danish and Egyptian holidays.

Official holidays/closing dates in 2019:

New Years Day
1 January

Coptic Christmas
7 January 

Easter Sunday
21 April 

Easter Monday   
22 April 

Coptic Easter Sunday  
28 April 

Sham el Nessim (Spring feast)
29 April 

Eid el Fitr (marks the end of Ramadan)
5 June* 

Eid el Adha 
12 August*

Christmas Eve 
24 December

Christmas Day
25 December

New Year's Eve
31 December


New Years Day
1 January

* will be adjusted according to official announcement